Sunday, May. 04, 2003

Sunshine sucks

9:12 a.m.

PROFILE BIO E-MAIL DESIGN DIARYLAND

Sunshine - I hates it. Makes me ill.

Yesterday we went to my company picnic to be bored off our asses. The past two years the company has rented out little theme parks for us - Wet'n'Wild last year, River Country the year before. It was great. Lots of things to do that didn't involve standing around talking to my coworkers or attempting to introduce my shy boyfriend to my coworkers. I've recently become a low talker, too, so everyone has to ask me his name two or three times.

This year they decided to hold the picnic at a kids summer camp, on a lake you can't swim in. Woo. The only people who showed up were the ones with really little kids, and they spent the whole time chasing their little kids around the playground. The playground was covered in spider webs, so I was not really into it. Plus, the kids were hogging all the rides.

The DJ played a mix of contemporary country music and pop hits from the 30's and 40's. Did you know there's a country version of the Macarena? There is. It seems twice as long as the original.

There was an Athletic Director, but he was only interested in coming up with silly, cheap games for the kids to play. Ask me about frisby golf. Boyfriend and I brought a bag full of softball's, bats, and gloves. No one else was interested in playing, though, so we just took turns pitching to eachother for batting practice. I did okay. Boyfriend hit a line drive right into my shin. I'm okay.

Soon enough I started to feel sick, as I always do when exposed to too much sunshine. We left.

We stopped at the rich people Publix. It was super fancy, every single food category and sub-category was labeled with a big sign, and they had lots of free stuff. The only way to get rich people in your store is to offer lots of free stuff.

Boyfriend felt sorry for my pitiful condition and finally took me to see Malibu's Most Wanted at the Pleasure Island Theater. I have been looking forward to this movie, but it exceeded even my expectations. I laughed, I cried, I swooned. Know what I like best about Jamie Kennedy? That boy never goes to the gym. Also, he's funny. Taye Diggs, on the other hand, is so gorgeous I don�t see how he can walk down the street without crazed women tearing his clothes off.

The movie was funny. They kept coming up with fresh material, they never beat any of the jokes to death. The only thing I didn�t like was how much they borrowed from 8-Mile, though I guess that was an inevitable spoof given the nature of this movie. There�s a part towards the end where B-Rad figures out the con being perpetrated upon him, and he gets all badass and shit. I liked that the best.

I came home and was sick for the rest of the night. Boyfriend is always picking on me about the number of painkillers I take every day and maybe I should have listened to him, because they don�t work any more. I woke up this morning feeling great, though, and ready to spend my whole day inside cleaning. I had better get started, because I want to see X-2 tonight and I'm not going to let myself until I get my chores done.

LAST ... ARCHIVE ... NEXT


Get E-mail When I Update
Notifies Sometimes Include Photos