Thursday, Jul. 10, 2003

This is an Update

1:32 p.m.

PROFILE BIO E-MAIL DESIGN DIARYLAND

So, are ya curious about my life and the status of my many relationships? I haven�t had the time or privacy to write a journal entry in some time, so I�ll just catch up with an overview of the major points:

Me: I�m okay. Stretched a little thin these days, trying to spend quality time with family, friends, pets, vets, and boys. When I�m not working or socializing or spending six hours at the vet, I�m sleeping. I never get any of the me-time I crave, but that�s my own fault. I think I�m emotionally numb right now, except for the occasional bouts of undirected rage I feel quite powerfully.

Keith: Our official status right now is Just Dating, because apparently Girlfriends and Boyfriends are supposed to be together at every moment, waking and sleeping, and keep one another informed of every thought and emotion as it occurs, and I�m just not ready for that kind of time commitment right now. Also, it may have been a mistake to start this relationship off with complete and total honesty. That was probably where I lost the upper hand. You might think that I regained some measure of control when he confessed that he never believed in Love at First Sight until he met me, glorious me, but the truth is that once someone confesses a weakness like that I have to be even more careful not to hurt them. Even though he has only figuratively given me his heart, I feel responsible for it, which is kind of a drag. You know I much prefer being an unfettered bitch.

Big D: He hasn�t given up on trying to win me back, he�s just being more subtle and patient these days, so I can live with it. We have a fairly easy-going friendship (after I informed him that all the emotional outbursts were very unattractive) and since he�s not working he spends a lot of time at my house while I�m at work. He does housework, laundry, yard work, and keeps the cars clean. He�s also been very helpful about taking the cats and dogs to the vet. He�s experienced a great change of feeling towards my pets. He used to think spending money on them was kind of a waste, but is now wholeheartedly devoted to their health and happiness. So that�s convenient. He has also spent a lot of time reading my favorite books, listening to my favorite music, and watching my favorite movies and shows. He smiles a hell of a lot more often now, though I�m not sure if that�s due to my excellent taste in entertainment or the fact that he got his front teeth crowned and is no longer ashamed to reveal them.

Sweet and Baby: My dogs are upset, probably because I don�t spend enough time with them, and Sweet expresses his displeasure by pissing on everything. My house is so smelly I�m almost ready to burn it to the ground. I am definitely ready to replace the carpet with tile. Baby had some nasty, mysterious insect bites not too long ago, but after two weeks of antibiotics and anti-venom pills, he is fine again.

Eliza and Simon: My cats have been spending a lot of time at the vet. Eliza scratched her eye again and there was great fear that her cornea was deformed and would need another surgery, but she turned out to be okay after some antibiotic eye drops (and three $100 eye test appointments). Whew. Simon has another UTI and is on medication for that, and we are changing his food again. Thank god Big D is free to take them to these appointments, because I need all the work hours I can get to afford it all.

The New Cats: In an effort to tame the feral kittens, we are separating them. Keith took his calico home, the runty little tuxedo is going to Abby Normal�s soon, and I am handling the silver tabby as much as possible. They have herpes and ear mites, so I�m working on the latter and studying the former.

LAST ... ARCHIVE ... NEXT


Get E-mail When I Update
Notifies Sometimes Include Photos